Tetra Tech received the U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) 2013 Dwight D. Eisenhower Award for Excellence in the Services Category, which recognizes large federal government prime contractors with effective small business subcontracting programs that create optimal opportunity for use of small businesses in all socioeconomic categories. The award presentation, which was the culmination of SBA’s National Small Business Week that included events across the United States, was held in Washington, D.C. on June 21.

SBA Administrator, Karen Mills, praised Tetra Tech saying, “Your hard work, innovative ideas, and dedication to your community have helped you succeed. The SBA is pleased to recognize your achievements and your role in driving our nation’s economic growth.”

Tetra Tech has long recognized the value of small business partners to its core business, particularly the U.S. federal market. Tetra Tech has been an active participant in Mentor-Protégé programs with the U.S. Department of Defense and SBA since 1993. In the past five years Tetra Tech has awarded contracts valued at more than $750 million to small business suppliers and subcontractors.

“We are proud to have established subcontracting policies across our broad federal customer base to recognize and encourage the use of small and disadvantaged businesses,” says CEO Dan Batrack. “Tetra Tech has a proven record and a well-defined process to mentor, guide, and train the small business subcontractors who support the execution of our projects. We are gratified at the number of our protégés who continue to partner with us after having successfully graduated their programs.” Read about our partnership success.

The hard work and dedication of Tetra Tech project managers across the United States made this award possible. Their commitment to partnering with and mentoring small businesses have helped many businesses grow, made our projects better, and supported our relationships with our clients.

Tetra Tech previously received the Eisenhower Award in the Construction category in 2008 and 2001.